_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
New to painting jets- advice and tips please!
Brentonator
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 14 posts
AeroScale: 13 posts
Posted: Thursday, October 09, 2014 - 10:12 AM UTC
Hi all,

I'm new to painting model aircraft and I'd like to start painting various airframes from middle eastern air powers in the modern (1980's onwards) era. Specifically I'm currently looking to do projects for the Israeli Air Force, IRIAF, Egyptian, Syrian and Iraqi air forces.

I'm not sure about painting techniques and which brands/colour paints to use for each of these air forces, and where to buy them from.

Any advice would be very much appreciated!

Thanks!
Scrodes
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ontario, Canada
KitMaker: 771 posts
AeroScale: 763 posts
Posted: Thursday, October 09, 2014 - 11:40 AM UTC
I don't have the answers for you - but to help someone who might, are you airbrushing or using a brush? That can make a difference as people tend to give specific colours from specific companies and some brush/airbrush better than others.
Jessie_C
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 6,965 posts
AeroScale: 6,247 posts
Posted: Thursday, October 09, 2014 - 01:00 PM UTC
A must in every painter's reference kit is IPMS Sttockholm's Colout charts. Chart I lists the colours of most air forces, historical and current by country and Chart II gives cross-references between popular paint brands.

Since you're UKian, I expect that you have easy access to Humbrol, relatively easy access to Revell and possibly access to Testors Model Master. You can find matches to nearly all modern jet paints in their ranges.
Brentonator
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Posted: Thursday, October 09, 2014 - 06:42 PM UTC