_GOTOBOTTOM
Cold War (1950-1974)
Discuss the aircraft modeling subjects during the Cold War period.
Hosted by Tim Hatton
Airfix 1/72 Spitfire PR.XIX Swedish
JollyRoger
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Istanbul, Turkey / Türkçe
KitMaker: 1,241 posts
AeroScale: 616 posts
Posted: Friday, May 22, 2015 - 12:14 AM UTC
Hi everyone. It's been a while since I last posted anything, this does not mean that I am not building models...simply means can't finish much :] I've snatched this kit a few months ago with great expectations and an ambition of a "quick build". Well ok menaged to finish in 3 days, very fast for me. I am not a Spitfire expert but as a mid quality 1/72 bird it looks pretty nice. It is one of the first period of "come back" models of Airfix as far as I know so I was expecting the trenchlines so there is no wonder there. Fits fairly ok, needed a little bit of putty but that was mostly my fault. Decals on the other hand is a different nightmare. Yesterday I was pretty close to throwing everything out of the window but decided to leave a rest through the night for the deals to settle. Anyone thinking about building one should either be prepared to a very very bad session with decals that were initially intended as emergency blankets or buy an aftermarket set. Anyways, I didn't do much on the kit, just punched a few rivet halls around the engine compartment and added the antenna behind the cockpit. I wanted a rather clean and unweathered look on this one so I kept it easy. I am open to any suggestions and corrections, enjoy.

Joel_W
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
AUTOMODELER
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 11,666 posts
AeroScale: 7,410 posts
Posted: Friday, May 22, 2015 - 07:12 PM UTC
Yalym,