_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Replacing a Missing Ju-52 Wingtip
jphillips
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Arizona, United States
KitMaker: 1,066 posts
AeroScale: 214 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 27, 2015 - 10:58 PM UTC
Can anyone suggest a way to fabricate a new wingtip for my Ju-52? There wasn't enough pressure to push the plastic through the mold, and it came out incomplete, as you see in the pic. Next to it is the other upper wing, to show how it's supposed to look. I have a vague idea that I might be able to reproduce the corrugated texture by pressing some kind of putty or something against the other wing. Should I use Milliput for this? I've never used it before. Thanks guys!
phantom_phanatic309
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 2,568 posts
AeroScale: 1,619 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 27, 2015 - 11:11 PM UTC
I'd try for a replacement direct from the manufacturer before attempting a fix. That's a BIG chunk of plastic that's missing. Email them a pic and see what they say.
Whose kit is it?
Joel_W
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
AUTOMODELER
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 11,666 posts
AeroScale: 7,410 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 27, 2015 - 11:19 PM UTC
You really have two separate issues to deal with. Replacing the missing wing tip would entail cutting off and squaring up the wing. Trace the good wing tip on sheet plastic sheet thick enough and cut out it out. I would use pins rather then just a butt joint as you're going to be doing a lot of sanding and rescribing, which will put a lot of pressure on the joint. Now sand and file to shape.

The harder part of the repair is rescribing all those recessed lines.

As Stephen said, replacing the wing would be the better option. If the manufacture can replace it, that's the way to go. If it's an older kit, try locating one on ebay.

Joel
jphillips
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Arizona, United States