Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Camouflage pattern
uilebheist
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Michigan, United States
KitMaker: 69 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 08, 2004 - 10:40 AM UTC
I'm not very experienced with an airbrush, how would one paint this camo pattern?

Thanks
#:-)
ZoomieE7
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 145 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 08, 2004 - 12:17 PM UTC
Notice: there's a repetition of small "arcs" in the pattern. Personally, I would experiment with spraying through "masks" ( freehand holes) cut from a 3x5 index card. It's gonna be a bit tedious, no matter how you slice it.
shonen_red
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Metro Manila, Philippines
KitMaker: 5,762 posts
AeroScale: 543 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 08, 2004 - 01:21 PM UTC
What scale is this? I'm doing my 1/72 BF-109E-4 with the same cloud pattern. My solution, get a cartolina paper (any hard paper would do) and form an arc over the model. Then like ZoomieE7 has said, try making strikes on the paper such as irregular holes. Try to make it small. Then spray it all out. Sorry, I haven't tried it but that's what I'll do on my kit.
uilebheist
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Michigan, United States
Posted: Sunday, February 08, 2004 - 01:55 PM UTC
I'm doing a 1/144 scale right now, I plan on getting a 1/48 me 110 soon to try it on also.
brandydoguk
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - North, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,495 posts
AeroScale: 643 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 08, 2004 - 04:34 PM UTC
One thing I would suggest is to practice as much as you can on this technique before you do it for real. If you have an old kit lying around that is spare you could use that, then if you make a mistake at first you simply let it dry and try again.
flitzer
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - North West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 2,240 posts
AeroScale: 743 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 08, 2004 - 05:53 PM UTC
Hi uilebhest,
there is a range of camo masks by Airwaves:
AEMM501 - 1/72ND FIGHTER CAMO MASK
AEMM102 - 1/48TH CAMO MASK