_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Biplane woes.
lespauljames
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 3,661 posts
AeroScale: 369 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 05:10 AM UTC
Ok so I'm not a beginner but we all have to learn so...

I was making a biplane. Eduard albatross d3 in 1/48, and when it came to the struts and wing assembly everything fell apart. I had achieved a fantastic woodgrain on the fuselage and had all the wires attached for the pull through rigging technique and it all just failed into a big mess..

What tips do you have for ensuring that can help me to avoid this problem next time and for others to avoid it completely .
Jessie_C
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 6,965 posts
AeroScale: 6,247 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 06:54 AM UTC
You can get a biplane jig if you're going to do lots of biplanes, or you can make your own jig out of Lego.

Another idea is to make a pattern of the upper wing in cardboard with holes for the pegs in the top of the struts. Glue in the bottoms to the fuselage and lower wing, and then fit the cardboard over the tops of the struts. You can fasten it with tape to keep it from flopping around. Once the struts harden, you can then glue on the top wing and run your rigging lines.
Kevlar06
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 3,670 posts
AeroScale: 833 posts
Posted: Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 10:12 AM UTC