_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Weathering for aircrafts.
MTLB
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Dalarnas, Sweden
KitMaker: 17 posts
AeroScale: 2 posts
Posted: Friday, March 12, 2004 - 10:59 PM UTC
Hi.

I'm kinda new to modelling, and would like to get serious, and would like some (or a lot) of tips to make my models look more life-like.

I build mostly 1/48 world war 2 aircrafts.
Sidney
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Netherlands
KitMaker: 67 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Friday, March 12, 2004 - 11:49 PM UTC
do you have an airbrush?

in that case, spray a lighter version of the base colour in the middle of panels

after that, coat the model with some lacquer and use a wash to accent panel lines, then drybrush with the lighter base colour

add a layer of lacguer - done

have fun experimenting
brandydoguk
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - North, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 1,495 posts
AeroScale: 643 posts
Posted: Saturday, March 13, 2004 - 12:46 AM UTC
I build paint and decal the aircraft and use the method shown in the following link, it is quick and easy and does simulate preshading without using an airbrush.
weathering panel lines
antoniazzip
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Aragua, Venezuela
KitMaker: 158 posts
Posted: Saturday, March 13, 2004 - 01:55 AM UTC
Hi, welcome you can see this please...
lWeathering of Aircraft for DWA
Cheers.
Leal Antoniazzi Pedro.
[email protected]
Longshanks
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - West Midlands, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 191 posts
Posted: Saturday, March 13, 2004 - 06:24 AM UTC
If you can get a copy of this book it'll tell you everything, it's slightly dated but the methods are sound.........

'The Modelmakers Handbook' by Albert Jackson & David Day (Pelham Books)

It covers pretty much everthing and helped me out through my first few years of modeling no end.....! :-)
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 8,581 posts
AeroScale: 4,913 posts