_GOTOBOTTOM
Rotary Wing
Discuss helicopters and other rotary wing aircraft from any era.
Trumpeter 1/35th Hind Buid log
MLD
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Vermont, United States
KitMaker: 3,569 posts
AeroScale: 419 posts
Posted: Saturday, March 13, 2004 - 09:47 AM UTC
Trumpeter Hind Build impressions. I gotta warn you, I have MADD in the worst way, so when the next shiny new thing rolls along I might (read as WILL #:-) ) get distracted...

Inital impressions are overall pretty good. I am a builder, not a river counting scale plan consulting, that should be .0047mm longer kinda guy.
But I want the right parts for the right variant to be in the box. And I want those parts to fit together with a minimum of hassle.

My first impression of the interior assembly is that I REALLY like the box and tab assemblies for the interior. The fuselage has boxes molded into the inside and the structures added to it have long flat pins to fit into those boxes. On first dryfit the interior goes in quite nicely. There are some large e-pin marks on the fuselage interior, but I can't quite tell yet where they fall and if they need be dealt with ot not.

The instructions do not call out interior colors by FS #, as some might remember, I was trying to track down the color number/name for the interior of the troop compartment.

The instructions do not give this info.

Pilot and WSO seats are good, and you get to build you own harnesses from PE buckles and paper. They do not provide the parachute (???) and the one pic I glanced at does not seem to match the pilot seat padding.
On closer look there is a harness labeled parachute in the pictures of several books. This is NOT replicated by the kit parts. Hopefully Cobra Co or another aftermarket gap-stopper will pop these pretty quickly.