_GOTOBOTTOM
Rotary Wing
Discuss helicopters and other rotary wing aircraft from any era.
Re: Huey uh-1d
fenwood
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Queensland, Australia
KitMaker: 76 posts
AeroScale: 7 posts
Posted: Friday, April 06, 2018 - 05:10 AM UTC
I am new to helicopters and have dug out an old 1/35 Huey to have a change from armour and soldiers. My main question is: was the Huey manufactured from aluminium? If so would the aluminium show through the surface paint i.e distressing and weathering. If not what would have been the colour of the undercoat between the ally and the surface paint.
I hope this all makes sense.
Thanks in anticipation
Tony
Kevlar06
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 3,670 posts
AeroScale: 833 posts
Posted: Friday, April 06, 2018 - 05:22 AM UTC
Huey's were indeed made from aluminum. I've ridden in more than a few when I was a young Army officer. Paint would wear and chip frequently, especially around the doors and door sills, really anywhere a soldier would enter or maintain them, including maintenance hatches, latches and fasteners. However, US Army standard was to retouch chipped paint during required maintenance periods, so they were fairly well maintained-- the most wear I ever saw on one was at the main cargo and crew doors where the paint would chip/wear off right down to bare metaL due o the large volume of foot traffic. Interiors were painted dark aircraft gray on ours, exteriors were OD. I'd say moderate wear is OK for US Army Huey's, heavy wear would look a little out of place. There also wasnt much oil staining or exhaust visible, they were kept pretty clean in use.
VR, Russ
fenwood
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Queensland, Australia
Posted: Friday, April 06, 2018 - 11:49 AM UTC
Russ, thank you very much for your prompt response. I knew they were well maintained. I just needed confirmation of the wear and tear on the chopper.
Thanks once again, that is very helpful,
Tony cheers
Kevlar06
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States