Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Paint schemes
AikinutPGH
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 45 posts
AeroScale: 11 posts
Posted: Thursday, March 05, 2020 - 03:59 AM UTC
I am new to WW II Japanese planes and have some questions about paint schemes.
What color was the primer used for base coat?
Was there a special color for pilot training aircraft?
Was the light grey on the early planes the entire plane or different for top and bottom?
The dark green was standard for all locations? when was it started?
The green squiggle/blob pattern was applied over what color or bare metal? Was this local camoflauge or for all planes?
chrism
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United States
KitMaker: 160 posts
AeroScale: 156 posts
Posted: Thursday, March 05, 2020 - 07:32 AM UTC
Information can be found here:

https://www.cybermodeler.com/references.shtml
AikinutPGH
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Posted: Thursday, March 05, 2020 - 08:18 AM UTC
Thanks Chris, some helpful information, but little on WW II Japanese planes.
Jessie_C
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 6,965 posts
AeroScale: 6,247 posts
Posted: Thursday, March 05, 2020 - 08:20 AM UTC

Quoted Text

I am new to WW II Japanese planes and have some questions about paint schemes.
What color was the primer used for base coat?
Was there a special color for pilot training aircraft?
Was the light grey on the early planes the entire plane or different for top and bottom?
The dark green was standard for all locations? when was it started?
The green squiggle/blob pattern was applied over what color or bare metal? Was this local camoflauge or for all planes?

Whooo, boy, can of worms time.

-What colour was the primer used for base coat?
Often there wasn't one, which explains why the paint flaked off so easily. This is especially true for late in the war when supplies were running out.

-Was there a special colour for pilot training aircraft?
Yes, it was an orange-yellow. Late in the war, they often had green camouflage on the upper surfaces.