_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft: Tips & Techniques
Discussions on specific A/C building techniques.
Masking a canopy
UpperCanadian
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 152 posts
AeroScale: 4 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 18, 2020 - 01:55 PM UTC
I'm fairly new to aircraft modelling.

What is the best way to mask clear parts on a canopy?

I was thinking of trying liquid mask, but I have no idea if it actually works, or if there is a better way.

Thanks,

Dan.
phil2015
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Illinois, United States
KitMaker: 502 posts
AeroScale: 110 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 18, 2020 - 02:58 PM UTC

Quoted Text

I'm fairly new to aircraft modelling.

What is the best way to mask clear parts on a canopy?

I was thinking of trying liquid mask, but I have no idea if it actually works, or if there is a better way.

Thanks,

Dan.

Er, edited response. I should have asked what scale. I only do 1/72 so the following advice might not apply so much to larger scales....

I have kind of given up on cutting masks out of Tamiya tape. I will still do it, but only if the edges where I need to cut the mask are very clear to see, raised a tad helps. I use a surgical scalpel with a light source behind the canopy so I can see where to make the cut.

But if Eduard makes a mask, I will use it instead. I know it adds to the cost of a kit, but I find it worth it.
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 7,772 posts
AeroScale: 3,175 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 18, 2020 - 03:15 PM UTC
Hi Dan,

Below is a compilation of canopy painting ideas and techniques by many modelers. But here are my experiences.

First, I am a big fan of dipping the canopy in the floor care product formerly known as Future, now Pledge®
Multisurface Floor Cleaner. That puts a crystal clear coat over it and helps protect it.