_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
1/35th scale Helicopter kits
TreadHead
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 5,000 posts
AeroScale: 370 posts
Posted: Friday, April 30, 2004 - 08:07 AM UTC
Howdy all,

Just a quick note to ask the 'wingy thingy' guys here if they've ever heard of the 1/35th scale Heller/Humbrol Exocet helo kit? It apparently is an "Aircraft of the World" series kit. It looks quite a bit like our CH-53 series of rotary wing aircraft.
The reason I ask is because my LHS has just put one out (from a private collectors stash) on clearance at $25.99. And since most 1/35th helo kits are at least twice that, I was wondering if it was a good kit?
To be honest the 'Heller' part is the thing that makes me hesitate.
TIA

Tread.
Frenchy
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Rhone, France
KitMaker: 12,719 posts
AeroScale: 12 posts
Posted: Friday, April 30, 2004 - 08:52 AM UTC
Hi Tread
I'm no helo expert but the Aerospatiale SA 321 G Super Frelon (Super Hornet in english ) is the biggest chopper ever used by the French Navy (not the Army), and a few other countries like Israel. AFAIK the kit had been initially released in the 80s. According to what I have read the kit is quite OK and I've seen several super detailed models in contest reports. A reworked and updated kit has been released by Heller last month (at about $60...)

Frenchy
stugiiif
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 1,434 posts
AeroScale: 403 posts
Posted: Friday, April 30, 2004 - 01:45 PM UTC
Tread,