_GOTOBOTTOM
Modern (1975-today)
Discuss the modern aircraft age from 1975 thru today.
Hey Guys, noob here, have some questions
WildDog
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Maharashtra, India / भारत
KitMaker: 86 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 13, 2004 - 01:01 AM UTC
Hey everyone . I am quite an airplane enthusiast. I fly Falcon4.0 & am a part of that community. I was directed to this site by a fellow Falconeer. I have built some models in the past but I want to start a proper collection now & take it a bit more seriously. I figure that this is the best place that I can come for help.

I come from India, wanted to know if there are any more Indians on this site?

I have decided to stick with 1/48 scale modern fighter jet plastic kits.
My main problem is the painting. The paints are not available over here. My family frequently makes trips to London & the US so I will ask them to buy the models for me but the paints are a problem. I want to know the name of a brand that supplies the paints in the box or atleast specifies the names/serial numbers of the paints required outside the box. Then atleast they can pick them up. I want a brand that can supply US & Russian Jets. Maybe some Brit or French ones also. Basically, these are my questions. -

1. I am sticking with 1/48 models, I want a brand that can prefferably supply the paints in the box.

2. What is an airbrush? Is there one for all colours or will I have to buy different ones for different colours?

3. If the paints do not come in the box, what is the next best substitute that I can get at a hardware/general store?

4. Sand paper, swiss army knife, tweesers, nail polish remover, masking tape. Anything else?

Any other tips or advice to take into account for plastic a/c modelling will be very appreciated.
My main problem is the paints & painting. Any advice related to this will also be VERY appreciated.
Please help me out.
Thanks in advance,
Cheers,
WD.

PS - Let me know if there are any Indians over here.
WildDog