_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
hellcat done
newtothegame
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 588 posts
AeroScale: 468 posts
Posted: Friday, June 18, 2004 - 05:24 PM UTC
This is a shameless plea for your comments. I just posted my hellcat in "The Critic's Corner" and would love any comments you can give. I have learned so much from all of you on this site over the last year, so I would love an honest critique from you all.

Link to the Post
11Charlie
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Indiana, United States
KitMaker: 926 posts
AeroScale: 31 posts
Posted: Friday, June 18, 2004 - 07:16 PM UTC
New,
I'm no expert, but it sure looks sweet to me!! Love those panel lines...how'd you do those?
newtothegame
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Posted: Saturday, June 19, 2004 - 06:12 AM UTC

Quoted Text

New,
I'm no expert, but it sure looks sweet to me!! Love those panel lines...how'd you do those?

Thanks for the positive comment. For the panel lines, I tried Brandydoguk's method of pencil lead. Read about it here It worked great and I liked that it allowed the panel lines to come through the decals a little better than usual. (I did think it was a little too dark though and am on a quest to find a lighter colored lead.)

Thanks again.
Leon
11Charlie
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Indiana, United States
KitMaker: 926 posts
AeroScale: 31 posts
Posted: Saturday, June 19, 2004 - 10:01 AM UTC
Thanks! Going to give that a try...
Merlin
Staff MemberSenior Editor
AEROSCALE
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 17,582 posts
AeroScale: 12,795 posts
Posted: Saturday, June 19, 2004 - 07:43 PM UTC
Hi Leon

Beautiful job!

All the extras look great and the finish is superb. What paints and decals did you use?

One thing I wondered is whether there should be a non-slip finish at the wing-root. In Detail & Scale it says that this varied in application from a/c to a/c, so it may also be correct to have none.

All the best

Rowan
newtothegame
_VISITCOMMUNITY