_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Academy AH-1W: My first Armorama build post!
Gunfighter
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 743 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 21, 2004 - 05:38 PM UTC
With a deep breath and mucho nervousness, I've decided to post a few pics of my recently completed Academy AH-1W. This is my first attempt at a helicopter and my first attempt at some heavy weathering and washes, as well as the use of aftermarket decals.

It's been painted with Tamiya rattle cans (AS series) and a mixture of various brands of acrylics. If it couldn't be sprayed, it was brush painted. After painting, it was coated with Future via brush, aftermarket decals applied, decals sealed in with more Future, then washed & weathered using acrylic tube paints. It was flat coated with Testor's Dullcote Lacquer spray.

The overall scheme was inspired by a picture I'd seen over at the Aircraft Resource Center of a very dirty Cobra. I still haven't decided on a weapons load-out and may just leave it as is.

Be gentle, kind sirs (and ladies, of course!)

Bender
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Wyoming, United States
KitMaker: 323 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 21, 2004 - 05:48 PM UTC
I think it looks great, especially since you used spray cans for the paint, very nice work
mother
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 3,836 posts
AeroScale: 1,036 posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 21, 2004 - 07:28 PM UTC
Hey Gunfighter, for your first attempt at a helicopter, you did a great job. Paint looks smooth and the decals came out on top. You got the sharks mouth decals to lay down perfect, where there any problums with that. Looks fantastic man great job.
Frag
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Minnesota, United States
KitMaker: 437 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 22, 2004 - 04:16 AM UTC
Gunfighter,

thanks for "jumping In" and posting your work. The first step is the hardest. Nice Cobra! Go ahead and give it some fangs!