_GOTOBOTTOM
Rotary Wing
Discuss helicopters and other rotary wing aircraft from any era.
Cobra OIF Question
tom
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 681 posts
AeroScale: 11 posts
Posted: Monday, January 10, 2005 - 01:44 PM UTC
I got a 1/35 apache and I seen a program on the military channel about the cobras and was inspired by what there capable of doing and how there used like the old Huey's gunship in Nam were.

They say there used in Afgan and Irag, I would like to get a 1/35 cobra from my LHS.What is the correct version because there are so many.

Some reference material if anyone can provide it would be great. I am pretty new to aircraft and I tried a Black Hawk awhile back and got scared away from that because it was complex but fun. I think I have grown in my skills since I joined this site so I feel more confortable doing complex stuff now.

Would the cobra be a good start to helo's instead of the black hawk because it's smaller or should I jump right in to a black hawk.

Happy Modeling
HeavyArty
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 17,694 posts
AeroScale: 1,728 posts
Posted: Monday, January 10, 2005 - 02:19 PM UTC
Tom,
The current model Cobra used by USMC in Iraq is the W model. The Academy/MRC/Italeri 1/35 AH-1W is a good kit to represent a modern W. To get the latest versiopn, combine it with the Cobra Company AH-1W NTS upgrade set. Current colors are Light Gull Gray/Dark Gull Gray two-tone camo. Here is a photo of one:

As for the Blackhawk, i would go for it as well. It is not that hard to do, just a lot of plastic. If you can do the Cobra, you can do the UH-60L.

Good luck. Let me know if you have any more questions.
USArmy2534
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Indiana, United States
KitMaker: 2,716 posts
AeroScale: 246 posts
Posted: Monday, January 10, 2005 - 02:37 PM UTC