_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Tamiya P-51D "Blue Nose" In Progress Shots
Gunfighter
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 743 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 08, 2005 - 01:15 PM UTC
Hi all,

I figured I'd throw a couple of shots of my in-progress Tamiya P-51D. I'm doing "Petie 3rd" from the Aeromaster "Blue Nose Bastards Of Bodney" Set. This is my first attempt at a bare metal finish-type paint job and it turned out okay. I used Tamiya Gloss Aluminum and Blue spray cans for the basic paint job and brush painted the interior, wheel wells, etc.

At this point, I've sealed in the decals with Future, applied a wash to the panel lines, and dirtied up the overall scheme. Most builds I've seen are really clean, so I wanted to be different and envisioned the plane on how I thought it would look after a tough mission. I've still got the do some more weathering around the guns and exhaust, but I'm fairly happy with the outcome so far.

As always, comments and suggestions are gladly welcomed!

TsunamiBomb
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Arizona, United States
KitMaker: 1,447 posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 08, 2005 - 01:19 PM UTC
Wow, That looks excellent, your Pony looks awesome. Everything looks so real! You might need to scratch up the blue and black parts a tad. You dont even need to do that either, it looks excellent as it is. Does he have 1 kill or are all those yellow circles his kills also? Excellent job bro.
Kencelot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 4,268 posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 08, 2005 - 01:26 PM UTC
Ok, so I don't build wingy things, but I do enjoy looking at the ones that others do.
The Mustang has always been one of my favorites so (Hellcat up there too) I just had to take a peek at yours. It looks terrific thus far. I love the "blue nose" you did on her. The panel lines and the decals look excellent. Makes for a colorful craft.
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Quebec, Canada