Do335 Pfeil, finished at last!
RedSteve
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 31 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Friday, April 15, 2005 - 05:59 AM UTC
Hi all,
I'm a newbie round here but everyone seems really friendly so I thought I'd take the plunge and share my newly-completed (like, today) Do335 A-2 with you. This has been a really steep learning curve for me as I haven't made a model for twenty years, but the articles on Armorama have been invaluable.

Anyway, the kit: The Tamiya 1/48 version, built pretty much OOB except for some PE belts and resin tyres. Used Edourd masks, Tamiya paints for the undersides and interiors, Hannats Xtracrylics for the camo. Used Mal's preshading technique which worked well on the undersides (not very hard to get right) but I over did it when I sprayed on the camo, so it was invisible. All paints were lightened 5:1 with white for scale.

Applied a brown oil wash, then lightly dusted the upper surface panel lines with Mig 'Black Smoke' powder. Some drybrushing and silver pencil work then flat varnish.

All in all, a very enjoyable few weeks, despite the cock-ups
All comments welcome.
Oh, my apologies in advance for the pics, that's a skill I need to learn too...

More pics at: http://photos.kitmaker.net/showgallery.php/ppuser/7029/cat/500
Littorio
_VISITCOMMUNITY
KitMaker: 4,728 posts
AeroScale: 1,351 posts
Posted: Friday, April 15, 2005 - 06:28 AM UTC
Steve first of all a big welcome to the Big A

Second that is one nice looking bird you have there I would be proud to have that in my collection.

Ciao
Luciano
Bus
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Sao Paulo, Brazil
KitMaker: 846 posts
Posted: Friday, April 15, 2005 - 06:57 AM UTC
I like it too!!Welcome to the big A!
Great camouflage!
procrazzy
_VISITCOMMUNITY
KitMaker: 359 posts
Posted: Friday, April 15, 2005 - 06:58 AM UTC
WELCOME TO ARMORAMA!!!!
You are going to love it here!