_GOTOBOTTOM
Modern (1975-today)
Discuss the modern aircraft age from 1975 thru today.
New modeler, intersted in modern aircraft
DrCJ
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 3 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Thursday, September 08, 2005 - 08:01 AM UTC
Hey all,

I'm a new modeler and I'm interested in starting out with modern military aircraft. I just have a couple of quick questions that I would really appreciate any help you all can give me.

Who do you recommend makes the best quality models? paints?

I was planning on starting out with 1/72 models. Is that a good idea? On average how long does it take from start to finish?

What tools/brushes.glues will I need?

Sorry if these seems really basic, just trying to understand what I need to do to get started and make sure i'm not in over my head. I'm looking forward to learning from everyone.

Thanks!
CRS
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
KitMaker: 1,936 posts
AeroScale: 1,168 posts
Posted: Thursday, September 08, 2005 - 08:06 AM UTC
Great, you found the Aircraft Forum, the other folks will chime in soon I'm sure.
My answers are in your previous post
DrCJ
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Pennsylvania, United States
KitMaker: 3 posts
Posted: Thursday, September 08, 2005 - 08:09 AM UTC
Yes I did Chuck. Thanks for your help!
Snowhand
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
KitMaker: 1,066 posts
AeroScale: 31 posts
Posted: Thursday, September 08, 2005 - 09:01 AM UTC
best models generally are done by Hasegawa and Revell of Germany

Best paints can be anything you're comfortable with.

I tend to go with Humbrol and model master.

And yes, 1/72 is a good scale to start, allthough 1/48 is catching up quickly.
TedMamere
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Moselle, France
KitMaker: 5,653 posts
AeroScale: 4,347 posts
Posted: Thursday, September 08, 2005 - 09:14 AM UTC
Hi Christopher!

I made some comments in the "introduction" forum, so you can check that out too...