_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Pre-Shading
Spot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 95 posts
AeroScale: 33 posts
Posted: Friday, November 11, 2005 - 02:34 PM UTC
Okay, I've got an Eduard P-400 airacobra that I've finally gotten to the point where I can pre-shade it, but what is the best method because I've heard about air-brushing, regular paint brush, and a basic "sharpie." I'm not a pro so I'd like something a little more on my level; I've thought an awful lot about that "sharpie" idea, but does it look nice when it's done? Oh, and do I need to prime the plane before pre-shading, or is it all right without it?

Thx Spot
mother
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 3,836 posts
AeroScale: 1,036 posts
Posted: Friday, November 11, 2005 - 02:56 PM UTC
Ian,
I like to airbrush and you don't have to have perfect pre-shading lines. You should prime you kit, most of the time I'll just use plane o'l auto primer (lt. gray). I used a marker once, but it keeped bleading through the paint. I also heard other using the marker with out any problems. Using just a brush, well that may leave brush strokes and my show the thickness of the lines. Best to airbrush if you can, and if you do use the marker, draw a few lines on scrape plastic and spray over with the paint your using to see how it works out. Looking forward to seeing your photos.

Spot
_VISITCOMMUNITY
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 95 posts
AeroScale: 33 posts
Posted: Monday, November 14, 2005 - 02:37 PM UTC
Mother, thanks for the info., I think I'll give the airbrush technique a try since it seems forgiving. I'll put pictures of it up as soon as it's done. May be a while though since I have a tight schedule right now.

Thanks Spot
Grasshopp12
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Hampshire, United States
KitMaker: 757 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, November 14, 2005 - 03:00 PM UTC