_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft: Tips & Techniques
Discussions on specific A/C building techniques.
WWII antenna wire help
hoopdog9
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ohio, United States
KitMaker: 2 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Monday, November 28, 2005 - 02:44 PM UTC
Hello all. I'm new to modelling WWII aircraft. I'm finishing up my first 1/48 scale kit (P-40) and have no idea how to make the antenna. Any suggestions for a rookie? Thanks.
Defcon1
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Illinois, United States
KitMaker: 174 posts
AeroScale: 132 posts
Posted: Monday, November 28, 2005 - 03:03 PM UTC
Welcome aboard Michael.

I used stretch sprues for my antenna wires. Attached both ends with CA glue. Not too worry if it's not too tight. Take a match, light it. Blow the match out and carefully place the "hot" match near the center of the wire. The heat from the match will make the wires tighten. Don't let the match get too close or too long near the wire or else it will melt.
Nitro
_VISITCOMMUNITY
West-Vlaaderen, Belgium
KitMaker: 34 posts
AeroScale: 23 posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 29, 2005 - 08:28 AM UTC
Hi,
I myself do the antenna for my aircraft with a thin fishing line (0,08 or 0,065 mm, I'm metric, sorry).
All the rest is the same as defcon1 describes here.
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 8,581 posts
AeroScale: 4,913 posts
Posted: Tuesday, November 29, 2005 - 08:38 AM UTC
Hi Michael, welcome to Armorama

I use smoke coloured invisable mending thread, here is a link to my Spitfire Mk 1 online build. It takes you to the part where I am explaining the fixing of the antenna and IFF wires. Open the pics and you will see an explanation below. If you need anymore info just shout
Antenna wires using invisable thread