_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
My first Airbrushed Aircraft
ProjectPhoenix
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 32 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Thursday, December 05, 2002 - 03:17 AM UTC
Hi there, I have got an Italeri MK.IX Spitfire in 1:72 ready to be painted. All my painting skills are with a brush, however, I am now the proud owner of a Badger Anthem airbrush and would very much like to give it a go. Is there any advice as to how go about it in terms of masking, getting the camo pattern right, hard edged or soft edged camo etc. Your help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Phil
Bender
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Wyoming, United States
KitMaker: 323 posts
Posted: Thursday, December 05, 2002 - 04:42 AM UTC
Im in the same boat Phoenix, always painted with a brush so Im a rank airbrush newbie, but have a few things for ya. Practice, I had a couple of old ac layin around I just practiced on them for getting a feel for the ab. Masking I have found(the hard way) that you want to get some of the stickieness off the masking tape b4 applying it to already painted areas, and mask everything you dont want painted, I tried to get around this and it just didnt work for me, as for camo masking I have read and tried using Post it notes cut the camo outta the sticky part for hard edge, and cut the camo out close to the sticky part for soft edge camo, still working on that, but it seems to work ok, I need more practice tho....hope this helps, and hopefully some airbrush aces will let us in on the stuff that really works well

Bender
Tin_Can
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 1,560 posts
AeroScale: 750 posts
Posted: Thursday, December 05, 2002 - 05:33 AM UTC