_GOTOBOTTOM
General Aircraft
This forum is for general aircraft modelling discussions.
Home Made Invasion Stripes?
chip250
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Wisconsin, United States
KitMaker: 1,864 posts
AeroScale: 410 posts
Posted: Friday, March 31, 2006 - 03:10 AM UTC
Is it possible to paint accurate stripes that look pretty good. If so, how far apart would the black and white ones be. Basically I need dimensions for a 1/48 scale Monogram Hawker Typhoon.

Thanks!
~Chip
CRS
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
KitMaker: 1,936 posts
AeroScale: 1,168 posts
Posted: Friday, March 31, 2006 - 03:24 AM UTC
FSM article ?
http://www.finescale.com/fsm/objects/pdf/paintingidstripes.pdf
DrDull
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Illinois, United States
KitMaker: 133 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Friday, March 31, 2006 - 06:09 AM UTC
I was going to post the link to that same article. I'll only add that I'm a beginner, but I tried painting the stripes on a Monogram 1/48 P-47 instead of using the kit decals; it was a piece of cake and I'm really happy with how it turned out.

Good luck. Barry
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 8,581 posts
AeroScale: 4,913 posts
Posted: Friday, March 31, 2006 - 01:13 PM UTC
Pianting the stripes is actually far easier than using the kit decals, I used the kit decals on my Typhoon article here and it was a pain, although it looks pretty good. getting the decals in the right place and on straight is the hardest part.