_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Neophytes Welcome!
JackFlash
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 11,669 posts
AeroScale: 11,011 posts
Posted: Friday, October 06, 2006 - 10:39 AM UTC
Here is the air-field of dreams. If you remember building it as a youngster or are just coming back to the hobby after a long absence. My two cents...welcome! Congrats to our beloved Merlin. Taking charge of the young Arthurs eh?
Merlin
Staff MemberSenior Editor
AEROSCALE
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 17,582 posts
AeroScale: 12,795 posts
Posted: Friday, October 06, 2006 - 01:21 PM UTC
Hi Stephen

I think I'll be posting here as a beginner myself when it comes to WW1 builds!

Seriously - Aeroscale's building a great reputation for offering maximum help and encouragement to anyone starting out in our hobby - and the idea of Start Here is to take that to the next level and provide a purpose-built environment where beginners of all ages can learn from the mass of talent on the site. So, if you're new to modelling, don't be shy to post pics of your models and remember - there's no such thing as a "dumb" question.

All the best

Rowan
Dirk-Danger
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - North West, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 252 posts
AeroScale: 162 posts
Posted: Friday, October 06, 2006 - 01:38 PM UTC
Rowan,

On the subject of helping beginners, I have just started a full article on choosing, building, painting and weathering an aircraft kit - the kit I'm building for this is a 1:48 Fw190A-3 (Tamiya) as I believe its probably the simplest build of any 1:48 kit available. I will be uploading the article soon but here is what I've done so far ( I'm just about to start spraying the kit) -

Beginners guide to everything! (Well, a few things anyway)