_GOTOBOTTOM
Rotary Wing
Discuss helicopters and other rotary wing aircraft from any era.
First impressions on the CH53 E Sea Stallion
Mick_Toal
KitMaker: 15 posts
AeroScale: 6 posts
Posted: Monday, March 26, 2007 - 10:20 AM UTC
G'day all ... those of you who may have encountered me around the traps will know that I am a diehard 1/35th armour builder.

However, I was recently enticed across to The Dark Side of 1/48 aircraft by the release of Academy's Ch53-E Super Sea Stallion.

Nowadays I am very office-bound and 9 to 5, but in another life I was a foreign correspondent, and I covered a fair bit of Somalia in the air back in '93 riding in the bowels of these big bad birds with either troops or cargo.

I'll say right now that I intend this project to be a "no brainer" ... just a straight build with minimal enhancement.

Ever since Somalia I was wanted to build a Stallion, but I could only find 1/72 examples, and the Revell offerings (most of which were "Jolly Green Giants") looked a bit too much like hard work.

Now I haven't put a micrometer across the Academy kit, but I must say I am impressed with the common sense engineering and it captures the "look" of the Stallion well enough to evoke all sorts of fond memories.

I particularly like the one piece clear cockpit front, which allows the interior to be completely finished before it is "sealed up" behind the single part.

I've found that any effort expended on vehicle or aircraft interiors is largely wasted and I will only be adding some seat belts to the pilot seats and seeking out some finer .50 cal door guns.

However, I do have to question why the cargo compartment roof and walls have pin ejector marks on the internal (ie those with the detail) surfaces when they could easily have been forever banished away sandwiched against the inner walls of the fuselage halves!