_GOTOBOTTOM
Pre-Flight Check
Constructive critique of your finished or in-progress photos.
Gloster Gladiator MK1
Tin_Can
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 1,560 posts
AeroScale: 750 posts
Posted: Wednesday, March 26, 2003 - 01:31 PM UTC
This is my first attempt at WW1 era aircraft. These pictures aren't the best in the world but they'll work for now. This is my first attempt at a freehand airbrush camo.

Folgore
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Canada
KitMaker: 1,109 posts
AeroScale: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, March 26, 2003 - 03:02 PM UTC
FYI, the Gladiator wasn't used in WWI but in WWII (it first reached British squadrons in 1937), but I get the point this is your first biplane ever. Anyway, I like the looks of the camo (also a first attempt, very impressive) and the build looks pretty clean thus far. Do you plan on making the wires between the wings? If you like this model, you'd probably love Tamiya's Fairey Swordfish. I built it before I started building tanks and it is probably my favorite model airplane. Which company makes this kit?

Nic
Tin_Can
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
Posted: Wednesday, March 26, 2003 - 03:09 PM UTC
Your right, I meant WWII. I plan on using invisible thread for the wires. I have the holes pre-drilled but you can't see them (which is good...lol)!

This kit is made by Roden. I wish I could say a lot of good things about the kit but I did have several problems with it-Instrument panel, lower left wing (hence it looks and is a little lower than the right), canopy and a few other minor problems.

I was really happy with the way the camo turned out for my first attempt. This will be good practice for that F-105 setting under my desk.
Folgore
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Canada
Posted: Wednesday, March 26, 2003 - 03:11 PM UTC
I didn't notice the wing at first, but now I see what you are talking about. So, is this kit 1/72 then? It looks bigger in the pictures. Your airbrush job seems extra good now.

Nic
Tin_Can
_VISITCOMMUNITY