_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
vac kits ?
thegirl
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 6,743 posts
AeroScale: 6,151 posts
Posted: Monday, June 02, 2008 - 11:35 AM UTC
I have just received two vac kits . One from Koster of the Siemans-Schuckert D.IV and Sierra models of the Aviatik-Berg D.1
I have never done a vac kit before is there any info on these kits from other modellers build of these ? can some one give me some pointers . Thanks
Cheers
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 7,772 posts
AeroScale: 3,175 posts
Posted: Monday, June 02, 2008 - 12:17 PM UTC
Hi Terri,

Merlin has a feature: Vacuform Basics
JackFlash
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 11,669 posts
AeroScale: 11,011 posts
Posted: Monday, June 02, 2008 - 01:41 PM UTC
1. Good plan drawings are important. Try the Datafiles first.

2. You have already done the injected Eduard kit for the SSW D.III.
a. Think about using a resin replacement for the Koster vacuform motor.
b. Reinforce all load bearing landing gear struts with brass rod.
c. Don't use white metal wire or rods with resin pieces you may add for detail.
d. Use only brass wire / rod.
e. Reinforce the fuselage joints and if possible use clean wood popsicle sticks for the wood spars in the wings. You may have to scrape these sticks down a bit. But it will be worth it for the added strength.

Think longevity.

Also Thanks Fred for post ing the link to Rowan's Feature Very good information there.
Repainted
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Östergötland, Sweden
KitMaker: 1,058 posts
AeroScale: 1,004 posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 03, 2008 - 04:54 AM UTC
Hi Terri