_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Which Airbrush?
TwinSquirrel
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - North, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 4 posts
AeroScale: 3 posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 24, 2008 - 12:00 AM UTC
I'm new to this forum... what an amazing resource (just read all of HawkeveV's post on 'Reading the Seams" - awesome!).

Having made only brush painted models before with average results, I am about to puchase an airbrush and wondered whether anyone on here could provide me with any guidance. I am interested in the Badger Airbrush Precision Spray Set - does anyone have any comments/ guidance on this product?

Also, any guidance on paint types will be most appreciated as I only have knowlegde of Airfix/ Humbrol range.

Thanks in advance
TS
AirLedge
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Cork, Ireland
KitMaker: 292 posts
AeroScale: 265 posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 24, 2008 - 06:28 AM UTC
Hi,

I'm no expert, but seeing as no-one has replied, here it goes ....

I've only been using an airbrush for about a year myself, but I can honestly say once you've mastered one there's no going back to paint brushes!

Basically there are a few things to consider before you take the plunge and buy one.

There are two main types: single action and dual action.
With single action airbrushes you only control the airflow through the nozzle by pressing the top button, you can't manipulate the flow of paint which is necessary to achieve very fine lines and other details. Single actions are relatively easy to use and clean.
Dual actions allow you to control the air pressure and the amount of paint that is released, giving you the ability to do very fine detailing etc. Dual actions are more difficult to use and clean.