_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
It's all your fault.....
Hatter50
_VISITCOMMUNITY
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 478 posts
AeroScale: 391 posts
Posted: Friday, August 08, 2008 - 01:08 AM UTC
Introduction and Questions:

I'm a newbie here. Have lurked for a while and got "hooked". Have been into WWII aircraft, Armour, and Helicopters. WWI has not been my "thing", but the technical aspects of the aircraft lured me in. The "simpicity" and yet complex nature of the subjects intrigued me, as well as the depth to which you guys go with the subjects.

I'm now "hooked" on Roden 1/32 types. Am receiving my 1/32 Roden SE5 today along with the Part frets. I already have the Mastercasters Resin cockpit and wheels (Which are OUTSTANDING by the way). My "intent" is to display the innards of the fuselage as much as I can. I want to unlace the fuselage lacings and pull off some of the cowling for display.

I have already done a lot of research on the SE5 but there are a few loose ends. (I'm sure I'll come up with more later..........I have enjoyed reading about each of your builds and have been following the current ones).

My questions:

1. It "appears" that the fabric for the fuselage access panel is attached to the lower longeron, the laced on 3 sides. The panel just pulls down for access (thus all the wrinkles when re-laced). With the fabric all doped up, I "assume" it's stiff as a board when pulled down. I "assume" that it beats the heck out of the dope and paint. Have you any photos of that access panel pulled down? I have looked at a few current SE5 1:1 builds and found no photos of this area.

2. Does anyone have a rigging diagram for the SE5?

3. I have seen from the Forum that .004 monofilament is used for 1/48 scale, what about 1/32? Would .004 be too thin?

Regards
Steve
thegirl
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 6,743 posts
AeroScale: 6,151 posts
Posted: Friday, August 08, 2008 - 01:52 AM UTC