_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Which ww2 bomber?
kyaw25
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 24 posts
AeroScale: 22 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 16, 2008 - 09:28 PM UTC
I am a beginner. I have built a 1/72 airfix spitfire and a tamiya 1/72 P51-D Mustang 8th. So the bomber is my third kit. I am not going for those avro lancasters. Can you recommend any bombers 1/72? and how do i paint camoflage(spelling wrong i think) if i am paint with brush? And what is "email colour" from revell.It seems to thick , whenever i paint it after the first stroke the paint become very sticky. Do i need to strip it? Thanks in advance.
alpha_tango
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Germany
KitMaker: 5,609 posts
AeroScale: 5,231 posts
Posted: Tuesday, September 16, 2008 - 10:20 PM UTC
Hello Kyaw

Revell Email is an enamel paint. You need appropriate thinners for those, which you would use to make your paint more user friendly. Normally Revell paints are thinned for brush painting, but try to get their thinner for this paint type to improve it.

Brush painting is very difficult (for me) if you aim to get similar results as with an airbrush. Thin the paint properly but not too thin or you will get imperfections.

Try to paint wet in wet .. i.e. try to avoid overpainting your paint during the process (set each stroke beside the other with minimal overlapping). Do not go across paint that is beginning to dry. Paint several thinner layers if your paint is not opaque enough (let the paint dry thoroughly before you paint again)

Sorry can't help with the bomber. Maybe some more recent Hasegawas He 111, Ju 88, B-26 or Revell Fw 200, Ju 290, He 177 .. i do not know how the Academy/Minicraft B-17s are .. hope someone can help you better here.

all the best

Steffen
AIRGUNNER
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 246 posts
AeroScale: 234 posts
Posted: Wednesday, September 17, 2008 - 11:28 AM UTC