_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Newbie here
Megalatron
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - West Midlands, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 10 posts
AeroScale: 3 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 05, 2010 - 10:20 AM UTC
Hi

I've just started modelling recently and I was wondering what is the difference between enamel and acrylic paints?

I'm not using an airbrush yet if that helps. Thanks!
thegirl
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 6,743 posts
AeroScale: 6,151 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 05, 2010 - 11:30 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Hi

I've just started modelling recently and I was wondering what is the difference between enamel and acrylic paints?

I'm not using an airbrush yet if that helps. Thanks!

Welcome to the site Dale ! Lot's of room at the mess table so don't be shy .

Enamel paint is oil based paint while acrylic is water or alcohol based paint .

Oil base such as enamel works very well for brush painting . You will get different results with different brands out on the market . Just a matter of finding one which works best for you .

Acrlyic with some brands can be trick to apply when brush painting such as Tamiya . Others like Vallejo is the best paint out there for brush painting IMO .

Nothing wrong with not having an airbrush , lot's of folks here don't have one and they produce some beautiful works of art .
An airbrush will aid by not covering up the finer details on the surface , hence using less paint . It all comes down to what you are comfortable with and where your skill level is . If you do decide to get one there are many options for the beginner on this topic and come in many price ranges ( you don't really need a fancy airbrush to have excellent results , but you do pay for what you get )

md72
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 4,950 posts
AeroScale: 3,192 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 05, 2010 - 12:12 PM UTC
Welcome aboard Dale