_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Natural Metal Finish adn Decals
ppawlak1
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 1,973 posts
AeroScale: 59 posts
Posted: Friday, September 17, 2010 - 05:17 PM UTC
Hi Guys !

I'm new to 1/48 Aircraft, and now have a few "Bubble Top" P-47D's in the Stash. I've done some surfing on the paint process I need to use (prefered to the application of foil), but I still have some questions.

I'll start on these models soon, and intend doing the polished metallic finish in Alclad ALC-119 (Aluminium Airframe), after a coat of ALC-305 (Alclad Gloss Black Base).

So far I think I'm on the right track. Any advice on the above ?

Now, having got the Aluminium finish (with the process above), do I need to polish the model for a better sheen, and do I need to do something special to prevent decal silvering (and a quality outcome with the kit markings) during their application ?

Better still, am I better off going for AM decals instead of those in the Tamiya 1/48 scale kit (No. 90), and those in Hasegawa's JT40 (P-40D-25 Thunderbolt) to get the best finish with markings ?

Cheers and thanks for any advice in advance,

Paul

mtnflyer
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 394 posts
AeroScale: 360 posts
Posted: Friday, September 17, 2010 - 07:30 PM UTC
Paul.
Recently I read posts on the Aerodrome site, wherein, modelers were having serious issues with the Alcad Black Base product. The general consensus was they were throwing it in the trash bin, and switching to Tamiya gloss black.

Alcad is a lacquer, and your work must be protected with a high quality primer before applying the lacquer. Otherwise you'll risk damageing the plastic.

I've never read of anyone polishing it, but, they certainly use different shades for effect. Duraluminum with white aluminum, for example.