_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Opinions on Iwata
hogkeeper
_VISITCOMMUNITY
South Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 37 posts
AeroScale: 36 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 26, 2012 - 04:31 AM UTC
Looking for some advice/opinions on Iwata airbrushes. I've been using a Pasche VLS for about the last 4 years but am just not happy with it. I've been looking at Iwata, in particular the HP-CH and the HP-C plus. Anybody have any experience with these that can render an opinion or at least point me in the right direction. I guess I should clarify what I don't like about the Pasche. It is a good general purpose brush but it doesn't work well with acrylics, at least that is my experience. I think it might be because it is siphon fed instead of gravity. Also very difficult to get a fine spray pattern out of it.
Thanks,
Andy
Anmoga
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Spain / España
KitMaker: 456 posts
AeroScale: 13 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 26, 2012 - 05:09 AM UTC
Hi Andy,

I have the HP-CH and the HP-BH and both are wonderful AB.

In my life I have used before a generic single action AB and Iwata's are way ahead of that.

The atomization that you get of the paint is incredible, the workmanship is also incredible and the different parts have very, very tight tolerances.

I use acrylics (tamiya and Gunze) and haven't got any problems with them.

You can get a very fine spray pattern wit the HP-CH and besides that you can also buy the 0.2 needle, nozzle and nozzle cap to have an even finer spray pattern.

In the case that you want it mainly for fine spray patterns maybe you should consider the HP-BH since it has an smaller deposit and allows you to see better the kit you are painting.

I also recommend, no matter which AB you get, to buy the crown cap. In that way you will be able to protect the needle when fine spraying.