_GOTOBOTTOM
Pre-Flight Check
Constructive critique of your finished or in-progress photos.
Trumpeter Super Sabre F-100F
Sheehan1
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Queensland, Australia
KitMaker: 135 posts
AeroScale: 124 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 04:30 AM UTC
I am a newbie and been absent from the forum for a few years. I am in the process of finishing a few models I started. This model is my first attempt at Alclad 2 Polished Aluminium. All went well except my first use of the black gloss undercoat which I applied too far away and got a pitted finish. I removed the paint with alcohol and re sprayed with success.

I now have to give the tail end that burnished after burner look and would appreciate some help. I see Alclad have a brass and burnt iron colours. How would you suggest I use those? I was thinking of giving it a coat of the brass and then a light spray of the burnt iron over the top so that the brass shows through. Or maybe the brass over the burnt iron. Or maybe some alternative rings of each.

I love the look of this plane and think it has a real presence. Kit was OK with a few faults and the fine decals tended to break when positioning.

PrickleHead
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Western Australia, Australia
KitMaker: 338 posts
AeroScale: 190 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 06:49 AM UTC
Nice looking finish Sheehan, always thought about getting this kit. Think I might pick it up now.
GazzaS
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Queensland, Australia
KitMaker: 4,648 posts
AeroScale: 1,938 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 11:09 AM UTC
Hi Laurie,
The metal alloys used in afterburners don't burn because they're engineered to be heat resistant. I don't know which metals are used to make them. They generalky look like dull- gray metal outside and sooty inside. Think of well oxidized aluminium here.

Best wishes,

Gary
Sheehan1
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Queensland, Australia
Posted: Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 11:15 AM UTC