_GOTOBOTTOM
Pre-Flight Check
Constructive critique of your finished or in-progress photos.
Triple P-47 build
typhoonken
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New Jersey, United States
KitMaker: 26 posts
AeroScale: 10 posts
Posted: Friday, May 06, 2016 - 09:29 AM UTC
Posted this a couple of weeks ago in P-47 Heaven.

Just looking for some critiques or discussion, not a pat on the back.

I've been a WWII student/ junkie/ fanatic since I was about 8, especially for the air war aspect. I always thought it was so cool when WWII pilots had their own ground crew and especially their own assigned aircraft.

When I read the Squadron/Signal "Aces of the Eighth" book I was shocked and disappointed that bailed out pilots and airmen were sometimes murdered when they landed in enemy territory. Lt./Capt./Maj. Quince L. Brown was one of these unfortunate men, and the picture of him in the cockpit of his assigned P-47 "Okie" has remained with me ever since. Also because he reminded me of an uncle I have.

I have gone back to Maj. Brown's story many times over the years, one of the first times was to try out aftermarket decals of his plane on a Monogram Razorback.

More than 40 years later I came back once again to his story. Now I have a good sized personal library of all things WWII, and the internet has uncovered and made available to me more pictures and accounts of Maj. Brown, his history, his plane, his squadron, his group, and his fellow pilots.

Fairly early on in my studies I knew of his two assigned aircraft:

P-47D-6 s/n 42-74753

and P-47D-22 s/n 42-25698.

BOTH referred to simply as "Okie."

Then, thanks to obscure yet refined internet searches, I turned up a MACR (Missing AirCrew Report) for the aircraft Maj. Brown was flying on the day he was shot down and subsequently murdered. This aircraft was:

P-47D-28 s/n 44-19569 (NO PHOTOS FOUND)