_GOTOBOTTOM
World War II
Discuss WWII and the era directly before and after the war from 1935-1949.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Decals for a P-38 and another question
bohh33
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ohio, United States
KitMaker: 14 posts
AeroScale: 6 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 16, 2007 - 01:32 AM UTC
Hi,

I am a new modeler and for my first model I picked up a P-38J model from Revell. It is 1:48 scale. However, I would like to paint it as some of them looked in Normandy. The decals included do not work for this scheme, so I was wondering where I would find some that did. I have looked but am having a hard time finding sites with 3rd party things for models.

Also, I was wondering what kind of paint will give me the bare aluminum look. The paint list says I need "aluminum" paint. If I just spray that on will I have good results? How do you pros get them to look so much like real metal?

And last question. I was looking at different cockpits for the model. I came across these:

http://www.squadron.com/NoStock.asp?item=RM5479

http://www.squadron.com/ItemDetails.asp?item=LF4020

http://www.squadron.com/ItemDetails.asp?item=TD48455

http://www.squadron.com/ItemDetails.asp?item=TD49008

Now they all say they are for a specific kit. However, none of them are for the Monogram/Revell kit. Does that matter? They are all the same scale as my kit what makes one of them for this kit and not for the next?

Thanks a lot,

-Mike
bohh33
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ohio, United States
Posted: Thursday, August 16, 2007 - 01:59 AM UTC
I was also wondering if, in fact, and P-38s where painted like the picture attached. I've been looking the last two days and can't find a real one or find anything out about one. On most P38s they'll tell you the pilot and a little history. Is this one made up?

Percheron
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 432 posts
AeroScale: 360 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 16, 2007 - 03:56 AM UTC
Mike,