Aircraft of the United States in WWII.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
P-47 Razorback WIP
glamdring
KitMaker: 77 posts
AeroScale: 76 posts
Posted: Saturday, October 20, 2007 - 02:03 PM UTC
Hello All,

The P-47 Sig has inspired me to pull out Tamiya's 1/48 P-47 Razorback that I started maybe a year or two ago and lost steam on. Anyway, I figured a WIP thread might help keep me motivated and allow me to post questions from what I have done so far and questions for what is upcoming. I have a good start, but will post in steps because I am an incredibly slow builder so doing that might help me keep ahead of the thread.

First up the cockpit.

It was painted flat black followed by a downward angled spray of green. This allows some areas to remain black or a little darker to appear shadowy. This is a technique I read about online and am still working to master, but I like the idea and will continue to try it. After the green, random streaks were painted with a very diluted tan to break up the monotone look.

Then various details (consoles, etc) where painted with Tamiya acrylics. Chipping and highlighting of most of the switches on the consoles were done using a prismacolor silver colored pencil.

Various parts of the eduard 'zoom' colored pe set and placards set where added. One of the really nice parts of the colored PE set is the instrument panel; it has a lot of nice details. One question I have here is: How do you bend the pre-painted seatbelts without the pre-paint chipping off. It isn't terribly noticeable at first glance, but definitely not what I would really like it to be.

The cockpit didn't photograph as well as I would have liked, but it looks pretty good in person. Anyway, some pictures:

Hope all is well with everyone.
Allen
f1matt
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Manitoba, Canada
KitMaker: 1,021 posts
AeroScale: 184 posts
Posted: Saturday, October 20, 2007 - 06:10 PM UTC