_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
why has this happened?
lincoln
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - North, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 12 posts
AeroScale: 8 posts
Posted: Saturday, April 05, 2008 - 05:10 AM UTC
hi im having a problem painting my latest effort using my airbrush ,the paint is just running on the plastic and looks terrible ,it as if the paint and plastic are reacting with each other or like there is oil on the surface of the model (which there isnt) ,im new to airbrushing and this is only the second thing ive sprayed the first a tamiya 1/48 halftrack i did yesterday turned out brilliant no problem at all ,im using tamiya acryilcs thinned with their thinners .
the model im having trouble with is a revell salamander and im using tamiya RLM grey ,ive tried using different thinesses of paint different pressures on the brush and it just turns out the same ,could it be that the model needs a primer coat ?or am i doing something way wrong ?like i say im new to this air brush lark so any advice would be welcome

cheers
Grifter
_VISITCOMMUNITY
North Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 608 posts
AeroScale: 55 posts
Posted: Saturday, April 05, 2008 - 06:46 AM UTC
There could be a few things causing your troubles. The paint could be TOO thin, or too much air pressure combined with a too-thin paint. The plastic could need cleaning.

How thin have you made the paint, and what air pressure are you spraying?

Generally your paint should be the consistency of milk.....but what % milk I've asked....I usually go for a skim milk, or maybe 1% consistency. I like a lower air pressure ( 15 psi )....I believe most guys run between 15-20 psi. I believe the thinner the paint, the lower the pressure you sould use.