_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Beginner Help
kyaw25
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
KitMaker: 24 posts
AeroScale: 22 posts
Posted: Monday, August 25, 2008 - 06:29 AM UTC
Hi everyone, this is my first post at this forum. I am a absolute beginner and recently bought an airfix 1/72 supermarine spitfire Mk Vc for 4.99. Everything is fine with a bit of trouble with gluing landing gears and disaster struck with decals. When i apply decals they seem to fit not very well and after 30 minutes or so a part of the decal lift of. And i use matt paint. Is that a problem? and should i use decal setting solution? Any advice welcome
Thanks
alpha_tango
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Germany
KitMaker: 5,609 posts
AeroScale: 5,231 posts
Posted: Monday, August 25, 2008 - 06:41 AM UTC
Hi Kyaw

sometimes it is helpful to browse a little .. .I have given my 2ct just a few posts below (in Aeroscale latest posts)

https://aeroscale.kitmaker.net/forums/124088&page=1

Hope that helps .. if you have more questions just ask.

greets

Steffen
kyaw25
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United Kingdom
Posted: Monday, August 25, 2008 - 07:00 AM UTC
What is the difference between matt and gloss. And there seems to be white stuff around decals.
Could you recommend what kit should i get next?

Thanks
alpha_tango
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Germany
Posted: Monday, August 25, 2008 - 07:20 AM UTC
Hi again

the problem with matt (flat) is, that the surface is rough and not smooth as gloss. If you slide the decal on a flat surface it adheres not good to the rough layer below and thus you can get lifting decals or -much more common- silvering. That is air trapped below the decal mostly looking white or "silver".