_GOTOBOTTOM
World War II
Discuss WWII and the era directly before and after the war from 1935-1949.
Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Trumpeter 1/32 Lockheed P-38L Lightning
warreni
_VISITCOMMUNITY
South Australia, Australia
KitMaker: 5,926 posts
AeroScale: 2,201 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 07, 2009 - 04:39 PM UTC
Hello everyone.

After being entertained by numerous build logs I have read I thought I would do the same thing with my latest build, a Trumpeter 1/32 Lockheed P38-L-5-LO Lightning.

I have been building models for many years (over 40 now!) but am still very new to this weathering thing. I was in the RAAF for many years and in all my time there I never really noticed panel lines on any aircraft I worked on, even from just a few feet away. Therefore, please do not expect lots of pre-shading and panel line work as I do not believe it is very realistic. My opinion.. :-)

I am not going to go into the history and development that lead to this version of the ‘Fork-Tailed Devil’, suffice to say that Google is your friend and will give you pages and pages of reading about this World War II aircraft.

For this project I am going to be using the Eduard BigEd Colour Set. The BigEd set consists of:
32126 P-38J/L Lightning Exterior Set,
32134 Undercrriage set,
32567 Interior Set and
32590 Seatbelts set.

Just to clarify, this is the colour set, not the earlier set. No mask in this set. Not really a problem as the last Eduard masks I tried, that came in the F4F-4 Wildcat BigEd set didn’t even come close to fitting the mouldings in the kit. I have written to Eduard about it but haven’t had an explanation as yet. Strange thing is that the list on the website states that you get the masks in the set, but the front of the envelope they come in doesn’t list them??