_GOTOBOTTOM
Start Here (for Beginners)
This forum is for younger modelers or people just starting out in the hobby.
Airbrush Newbie
FLAKATTAK
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - North, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 53 posts
AeroScale: 33 posts
Posted: Friday, December 11, 2009 - 06:02 AM UTC
Hello Everyone, I have just registered on this site & have only just got back Into the Aviation Modelling. I am now taking the plunge Into airbrushing. What I need to know Is can I get an Airbrushing kit which will have the airbrush & all that comes with It & a decent compressor for around £60. I have seen some on Ebay. I have put in a link but you might have to type it in your address bar, im a newbie & havent sussed things out yet. sorry.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140366658492&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

The kit looks ok & the model of the compressor is a gs model no AS18~1.

I would appreciate your help as I have a B-17 Memphis Belle (1:48) to start soon.

Sean..
Siderius
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Tennessee, United States
KitMaker: 1,747 posts
AeroScale: 1,673 posts
Posted: Friday, December 11, 2009 - 07:31 AM UTC
Hi there Sean, Russell here from the United States. Thought I would give you some of my experience and see what you think.

I really, really like the Aztek line of airbrushes by Testors. I recommend the double action variety which allows you to control the amount of air when you press down and the amount of paint when you pull the trigger backward.

Here in the U.S. the model I am thinking of sells for around 90 dollars. It is well worth it since it is an easy airbrush to use and and easy one to clean. The Aztek has screw in screw out nozzle heads, the only drawback is eventually you have to replace the heads because they wear out from cleaning. That costs about 11 dollars, U.S. per head.