_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
Eduard 1:48 Pfalz D.IIIa early ver.
UNITEDSTATESNAVY
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Idaho, United States
KitMaker: 243 posts
AeroScale: 150 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 27, 2010 - 12:41 PM UTC
this model has been sitting on my shelf for months, got it started and the rigging scared me off,sooooo I was a brave little soldier and gave it a go,was dry fitting the wings and snapped the interwing strut So tell me, are all biplanes this horrific? or am I too inpatient?that hasegawa heavy cruiser ship languishing on my shelf looks like a piece of cake compared to this frail bird.are any other versions of this type easier to work with?
Mgunns
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Arizona, United States
KitMaker: 1,423 posts
AeroScale: 1,319 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 27, 2010 - 02:01 PM UTC

Quoted Text

this model has been sitting on my shelf for months, got it started and the rigging scared me off,sooooo I was a brave little soldier.......are any other versions of this type easier to work with?

Welcome to the Forum, you can learn a lot here, great people. Now are you a soldier or a Sailor? You may want to try the Glencoe version of this kit. It is the Aurora molds, very simple and sturdy, and a good subject to start out on. The benefit of the Glencoe kit is there is a ton of great decals. You have to drill the holes for the rigging, but it is a rather simple procedure. I use EZ Line, a sort of real thin rubber band, very forgiving, but a tad fiddly until you get the hang of it. Check out berkshirejunction.com.
The key is take your time, and have fun.
Semper Fi
Fair winds and following seas
thegirl
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 6,743 posts
AeroScale: 6,151 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 27, 2010 - 02:14 PM UTC
Ouch ! A broken strut on such a beautiful aircraft , that bites !