_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
WWI Aircraft first build suggestions?
17rocket
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
KitMaker: 19 posts
AeroScale: 4 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 13, 2010 - 05:33 AM UTC
Hello all.

I've been following all of the excellent comments on this site and wanted to pose a question. I'm a figure modeler specializing in the Great War and have for some time wanted to try my hand at WW1 aircraft. I am a novice at model building, my experience limited to Frank Luke's 1/28 Revell Spad over thirty years ago. The thought of rigging is frightening, but in spite of this I'd like to give it a shot. What I'd like to know is what would be a good first build to get my feet wet? I place myself in your capable hands.

Thanks!

Pete
dmopath
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Kentucky, United States
KitMaker: 175 posts
AeroScale: 174 posts
Posted: Wednesday, October 13, 2010 - 06:12 AM UTC
There are a considerable number of individuals who have built a larger number of kits for a longer duration than I, but I can offer a couple of suggestions.

Decide on a scale: Some build at 1/72, most build at 1/48, but many old folks such as myself like to work in the larger 1/32 (54 mm). The latter cost more, but allow for greater detailing. The most popular manufacturers are Roden, Eduard and Wing Nut Wings (WNW)-all have web sites for your perusal.

Break yourself in gently regarding the rigging. Start with a Fokker DVII or a Dr1. The cantilever wings require minimal rigging, and the struts seem to be easier to work with. German Albatroses and French Nieuports have some rigging, but are relatively straight forward. Avoid British planes to start with (except maybe a Sopwith Triplane).

All of the above represents my opinion only. The bottom line is to enjoy yourself.

Hope this helps.
plastickjunkie
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Florida, United States
KitMaker: 399 posts
AeroScale: 132 posts