Hosted by Rowan Baylis
Zoukei-Mura 1/32 Ta-152
Automaton
_VISITCOMMUNITY
United States
KitMaker: 153 posts
AeroScale: 139 posts
Posted: Monday, December 27, 2010 - 02:53 AM UTC
Hello all. 2010 has been a very unproductive modeling year for me. A lot of work pressure, getting ready to move house, etc., etc. You know, the "real life" stuff that gets in the way. I tried pressuring myself by entering a couple of group builds here on Aeroscale, but failed miserably at both. Maybe I'm just a poor manager of time, but anyhow here I am trying to regain the muse.

I figure if anything can help me, the prospect of a 1/32 Ta-152H (one of my all-time favorite planes) is just the ticket. I have several days of vacation coming up, so with some trepidation, I'm starting this build log of the new Z-M kit.

I've been looking for any information I could find online going into this build (forewarned is forearmed), and it seems this kit has a penchant for stirring up passions both positive and negative (part of the reason I mentioned "trepidation" earlier). lol Any good or bad experiences that I end up having with this kit should be interpreted only as my personal opinions, and it should be borne in mind that I am a modeler of average talent, and one who frequently tends toward somewhat unorthodox and labor-intensive (can you say OCD?)
methods.

OK, "disclaimer" over, here's my preliminary "reconnaissance" test fit and initial impressions:

EDIT: Since this is an international forum, I've decided to add captions under the pictures in case non-English speakers want to use translation software to view this thread. English speakers can just read the text directly on the pictures, please forgive the redundancy.

Tack glued/taped here. Fit is pretty good after a few tweaks . . .

All control surfaces are separate parts. Longer red arrows point to inserts
which form center front wing sections, shorter red arrow points to rather poorly fitting join between tail unit and main fuselage