_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
Wingnut Wings Pfalz D.IIIa Question
guitarlute101
_VISITCOMMUNITY
West Virginia, United States
KitMaker: 1,121 posts
AeroScale: 1,063 posts
Posted: Friday, December 31, 2010 - 02:38 AM UTC
Hi everyone,

I was planning to do Max Holtzem's "Comet" profile Pfalz. I know that many time personal markings were painted over the aircraft serial numbers. In this case the profile picture doesn't show this..............

but the decals do (numbers 37 and 39).............

I was wondering if you could share some opinions.

Thanks!

Mark
OEFFAG_153
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Västra Götaland, Sweden
KitMaker: 1,473 posts
AeroScale: 1,450 posts
Posted: Friday, December 31, 2010 - 02:47 AM UTC
Hi Mark

Hmmm, those decals do look a bit odd to me, I'm no expert on Holtzem's Pfalz – but I was always under the impression that the black bands and comet were done over a white ground  – thus blocking out the serial copletely...

Someone else here probably knows more than me though!

Mikael
thegirl
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alberta, Canada
KitMaker: 6,743 posts
AeroScale: 6,151 posts
Posted: Friday, December 31, 2010 - 03:38 AM UTC
Hi Mark , very interesting question and one which I haven't seen asked before .

In Osprey book Pfalz Scout Aces of WW 1 on page 45 their is a picture of Holtzem's plane . Not the greatest pic , it's blurred in a few spots .From the forth stripe from the tail there does appear to what could be a part of a number painted over with a black stripe and the white field does look lighter in colour compared to the top wing . For the colours , there is no mentioning of white as the back ground . personal emblem was black and white comet applied over a field of black stripes ( quoted from book ) . As to the white all profiles seem to have it and builds on the net