_GOTOBOTTOM
Modern (1975-today)
Discuss the modern aircraft age from 1975 thru today.
Academy kits
Sheehan1
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Queensland, Australia
KitMaker: 135 posts
AeroScale: 124 posts
Posted: Monday, May 26, 2014 - 06:27 PM UTC
I am a newcomber and just introduced myself on the forum. I am 66 and this is my first plastic model plane experience (I have some wooden boat kit experience) I have done a little reading about the better kits and it appears Tamiya is good but expensive. I thought I would ease myself in with a mid range product and my research indicates Academy made be OK. Please tell me if you disagree. I like the look of the following two models: 1. 1/48 Lockheed Martin F-22A Raptor and 2. 1/48 F 4B Phantom. Any thoughts on those two would be appreciated
Dragon164
_VISITCOMMUNITY
British Columbia, Canada
KitMaker: 1,909 posts
AeroScale: 508 posts
Posted: Monday, May 26, 2014 - 07:40 PM UTC
Hi Laurie,
Welcome, The F-4 is a very nice kit and I have heard the F-22 is not bad either.

I don't think you could go wrong with either.

Cheers Rob.
lentorpe
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Alava, Spain / España
KitMaker: 104 posts
AeroScale: 37 posts
Posted: Monday, May 26, 2014 - 07:41 PM UTC
Hi Laurie,
Welcome to the plastic department

I must confess that I don´t know those precise Academy kits. Generally speaking, Academy has a reputation of having these typical features:
- Correct proportions and general dimensions.
- Easy to build.
- Fit issues are not terrible, generally.
- Basic detail (always recessed panel lines, at least)
- Oversimplified cockpits and landing gears.
- Problematic decals in their oldest references.
- Endline: If bought cheap, then perfect models for learning.