_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
Please recommend me my first WNW kit.
Kolvir
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Iowa, United States
KitMaker: 23 posts
AeroScale: 5 posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 07:05 AM UTC
Normally these revolutionary contraptions aren't my style, I mean if you can't mount at least 74 guns over two decks, what's the point, but I have heard so many good things about WNW and have been curious to try one. This internal explosive powered vertical sailing probably wont catch on but it might be fun to try. Just don't let the Admiralty Board know.

I've never built a biplane before, but consider myself an intermediate modeler. Would the kind people here recommend me a kit? Also, where is the best place to order one, direct?
Kevlar06
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 3,670 posts
AeroScale: 833 posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 10:34 AM UTC
I'd order from Sprue Brothers here in the States-- shipping is faster than going through the Weta Workshop (WnWs Stateside distribution point) here in the USA. As to which kit's best, I'd recommend something with less rigging if you've never built a biplane before. the Fokker DVII, Roland CII come to mind- Or the Hansa- Brandenburg W12 seaplane, or Junkers J1 which have very little or no rigging. If you want to wait for the Junkers D1 which has just been announced, it doesn't have any rigging either. But I think you said you've done some sailing ships? It's about the same for some of the more complicated WnW kits as it is for a larger two masted shcooner. Maybe even easier for the biplane even.
VR, Russ
B_Ernie
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Queensland, Australia
KitMaker: 54 posts
AeroScale: 11 posts
Posted: Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 12:13 PM UTC
If you're on Facebook then you should ask your question in this group,
https://www.facebook.com/groups/115991888428471/
OEFFAG_153
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Västra Götaland, Sweden
KitMaker: 1,473 posts