Hosted by Rowan Baylis
avro manchester conversion from airfix lanc
almonkey
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - East Midlands, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 2,124 posts
AeroScale: 788 posts
Posted: Saturday, November 27, 2010 - 11:24 PM UTC
first things first. if any bulldogs are reading this, SSHHHH! this is a secret build!
ive been threatening to have a go at this conversion for about the last 5 months, so its time to shut up and build!

having got hold of the HBM conversion set i then needed a donor lancaster, i had a choice of two, the first a dambuster version that had got somewhat ruined by having a pot of dirty turps knocked over it about 15 years ago that turned the transparencies opaque. the second an airfix BBMF lanc built about 17ish years ago, wheels up, and had hung on my bedroom ceiling for 10 years.

well, the BBMF machine wasn't in too bad condition, plus all the u/c bits i hadn't used i'd kept and could be used to replace damaged parts on the dambuster lanc.

so i decided that the dambuster was the one to go with.

the remains of the lanc, which was surprisingly easy to take apart considering it was stuck together with ye olde polystyrene cement! in this pic the fogging of the main canopy is obvious, plus the broken u/c parts that will be replaced by parts from the other lanc.
also the unpainted gun turret has been liberated from a short stirling which i can use unmodified for the mid upper turret on the manchester.
never throw anything away!

the HBM set. lovely!
time to start cutting plastic then,

first thing i did was to cut out all those pesky little windows down the fusalage. first i drilled a hole at each end, a little bit short of the actual end of the window

then, using a scribing tool i took out the middle piece.

and finished it off with a couple of rat tail files, its quite slow going but its a very accurate way to open up these windows.
ive got further along than these pics show, but i'll wait till i have some more pics, then post another update.