_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
How I (don't ) paint scale figures.
dolly15
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Quebec, Canada
KitMaker: 8,227 posts
AeroScale: 3,915 posts
Posted: Friday, December 20, 2013 - 03:47 AM UTC
In my opinion most figures,even those done by professionals,look painted.What I mean is that they don't look natural and most look like toys.
Most modelers avoid the subject all together,some even going to ridiculous lengths not to include them ,a prime example is a fully rigged ship model with no one on board,not even at the helm.I call it the Mary Celeste syndrome.
Let me first say that I am a lousy face painter.I have tried and they all looked painted to me so out of necessity I have come up with my own solution,I just don't paint the faces.My figures would never even win an honorable mention at any model show but then again I don't paint for shows.Let me explain...
dolly15
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Quebec, Canada
Posted: Friday, December 20, 2013 - 04:37 AM UTC
All of my dioramas have multiple figures in them ,even the ones not confined to a hangar or a boxed setting.No one has ever complained about the quality and I am sure that it is not because they don't want to hurt my feelings,they just never noticed.Too much painting detail,especially on the face can kill an otherwise splendid model.
I have often heard modelers say they don't do figures because they spoil an otherwise lifelike looking model, which in a lot of cases is true.Even models with the "Mary Celeste Syndrome" that cry out for figures are avoided at all costs.