_GOTOBOTTOM
Early Aviation
Discuss World War I and the early years of aviation thru 1934.
WIP: Eduard Fokker D.VII
gregax
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Slovenia
KitMaker: 124 posts
AeroScale: 118 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 19, 2007 - 10:04 AM UTC
Here it is... my first real WW1 aircraft ever... I've decided to have a go with this classic. Eduard's 1/48 Fokker D.VII (OAW). Please bare with me on this one, as I am a real rookie at modelling WW1 planes.

Here we go!

the first kit ever which has more decals than plastic parts.

Wings were assembled, sprayed with Mr. Surfacer, then with future, then the first set of lozenge decals were applied.

Then..... million decals later, the wings were finally covered... huh.

Now on to the fuselage....
Comments welcome as usuall...
JackFlash
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Colorado, United States
KitMaker: 11,669 posts
AeroScale: 11,011 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 19, 2007 - 10:21 AM UTC
Greetings Gregax;
You may benefit from several threads we have done here previously. Looks like you have a good start though. One small point the ailerons didn't have rib tapes. Also when you get to the tail unit - no rib tapes at all . You have picked a good kit to work with and out of the box there are not too many concerns. Which colour scheme will you go with?

Click here for one thread .

Here are some overall comments on kit #8131

Click here for lozenge camouflage applications.
CMOT70
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Victoria, Australia
KitMaker: 629 posts
AeroScale: 539 posts
Posted: Wednesday, December 19, 2007 - 11:50 AM UTC
It's a nice kit for sure. Though i had one problem when doing mine, i had all sorts of trouble getting the fuselage halves together- getting all the bits on one side to line up with their holes and slots on the other. But then again, i'm notoriously bad at getting fuselage halves together and i've heard no one else mention having the same trouble with these DVII's.